MEMORIES OF JULY 4TH

Kountze Korner

I have a number of July 4th memories.  My earliest would have to be celebrating with my family – a picnic, fire works, a cool swim.  Sometimes we attended church and enjoyed a typical Baptist feast.

I recall July 4th in 1964 as my cousin Annette from Wyoming was visiting.  Her mother had died the year before and Annette was getting to know her Texas family.  I can recall the family had gathered at my aunt and uncle’s cabin on the creek.  As we splashed in the cold creek waters, others played badminton.  Fire flies danced in unison to the sounds of A Hard Day’s Night as it played over the transistor radio.  The  hot July heat filled the air.  It was a fun day.

I recall July 4th 1969 as I was in San Diego, CA visiting family friends.  The Hamms lived 19 blocks from the Pacific ocean which…

View original post 1,298 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

