TWA 800 – 19 Years Later

Kountze Korner

Nineteen years ago  July 16, 1996 – a Wednesday – I recall taking a dip in the pool at work.  It was late afternoon but the cool waters felt great.  My job as a caregiver very stressful at times.  The sun was setting as I toweled off and headed home.

While dining from the comfort of my apartment I watched the news.  It was then I learned of the horrible explosion of TWA 800.  I watched with horror as the live shots from NY waters filled my tv screen.  The next day the catastrophe became very personal as I learned I knew three of the victims,  Pam Lychner, her young daughters Shannon and Katie.

My mind was filled with grief as I remembered the young family – whose lives were privileged, private schools, nice two story home with a generous pool in the back yard.  I had known Pam and…

View original post 570 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

